GPS Cricket Trophies

The official GPS Cricket competition commenced in 1893.

As early as 1897 the competition was in First and Second Grade.

The 1st XI Trophy was first awarded in 1893. The Shield had A.A.G.P.S. Challenge Shield for Cricket engraved on it. In 2014, the name of the trophy was changed to the “AT Lantry Challenge Shield”, honouring Mr Tony Lantry’s 50 years of service, including 30 years as AAGPS Cricket Convenor.

The 2nd XI Trophy was first awarded in 1915. The Shield just had A.A.G.P.S Cricket Second Grade engraved on it.

The Tom Brooks Medal , the GPS 1st XI Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award, is a new award, with its commencement in 2017, judged by Umpires on a 3, 2 and 1 vote system for each day’s play. The award, presented as an individual medallion, will be announced at the end of each AAGPS Cricket season and presented to the recipient at his school assembly (or similar forum) by a member of the AAGPS Executive.



Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/aagps/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405