GPS Rifle Shooting Trophies

The official GPS Rifle Shooting competition commenced in 1905 but results of the National Rifle Association competition are recorded from 1893. The AAGPS decided in 1903 to formally admit Shooting as one of its sports.

Trophy for the 1st team – The 1st team premiership is decided on the results of three individual matches.

1. The National Rifle Association Shield purchased by the AAGPS in 1905. The NRA competition had been held annually for many years prior to 1905.

2. The Rawson Cup presented in 1905 by Sir Harry Rawson Governor of New South Wales and Patron of the AAGPS. In 1910 it became a perpetual trophy.

3. The Buchanan Shield from 1905 to 1912 was known as the GPS Challenge Shield but in 1913 was renamed to honour CA Buchanan.

Trophy for the 2nd team –  GPSAAA Rifle Shooting Second Grade Premiership Shield – was first awarded in 1917.

This Shield has GPSAAA Rifle Shooting Second Grade Premiership Shield written on it.


Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/aagps/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405